Random 7+1 Facts About Mei (that you already didn’t know)

Since Jook is a communist who thinks that I should be tagged, here I am doing one of these redundant “8-facts-I-wanna-know-but-really-don’t” sort of tags. But since Jook is a rockstar who is still a friend despite my lickings, all is forgiven.

Random Fact #1

I am a pure mixed-bred Chinese, with 1/8 Russian, some Thai and some Nyonya thrown in. Which explains why my brother looks slightly European and I look… Malay. At one point when I was wearing a baju kurung buying stationary with my brother, the sales assistant kept on gawking at my brother and I, asking “Siblings? But how come you’re Malay and he looks like cina celup?”.

Random Fact #2

My first translation gig was translating Kiwi sayings, euphemisms and humor to some Latin American classmates. Good times.

Random Fact #3

Before taking up Spanish and Italian in Uni, I actually applied [and got accepted at the last minute] to take up a Bachelor of Language and Speech Therapy. Which would’ve meant I would’ve become a speech therapist, earning bigger money than being a [starving] writer.

Random Fact #4

I didn’t start wearing skirts until I was 13 or 14.


Random Fact #5

I’ve blocked quite a few people on my MSN list. Since I think they ought to know why [and who], here’s a list below :

Alex Chua : My ex. Bloody irritating, and always trying to dispense advice that I think is rather old-fashioned. So what if I work myself to the bone and freelance. If I die halfway while working IT IS MY PROBLEM not yours. One day he decides that it’s funny that I’ve started paying for my car repairs and tax [on my own], and said [rather snidingly I felt]: Haha! Now you know how it feels like to spend your own money.

Well excuse me you uptight morally-right bastard, I’ve been working since I was 16 and spending my own money on clothes and shopping since then.

Conclusion : You’ve been blocked as you’re an irritating uptight bastard.

Joel Tai : Another ex, who deems himself superior and worthy above everyone else. Can’t string a nice sentence to save his own balls.

Conclusion : Egoistic, self-centred and a downright asswipe.

Random Fact #6

At some warped stage of my life I could speak a little German, Latin, Italian, Spanish, English, Malay and Hokkien.

Random Fact #7

I am listening to Sarah Brightman’s Symphony album as I type this out.

Random Fact #8

I hereby tag thee

Christine – Cause I know you’re free

Kel – Cause you need to blog

Tim – Cause your blog is depressing

Junaidi – Cause you’re depressed

Jojo – Cause you need a distraction

Ying Swan – Cause you’re this year’s UMSA President

Hmph.

M*

Posted on May 3, 2008, in Fun fun. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. hey mei-mei,

    does jojo mean me? doesnt right? you have another friend names jojo? if it is me (but i beg to differ) then why do i need distraction? i am distracted enough!!

    hshahahaahaha

  2. it’s stationEry, dear.
    and i think u meant 7 – 1.

    damn. proofreading = occupational hazard.
    did u put me in E???!

  3. oh, it was interesting too =D

  4. i’m trying to think up of random facts of myself.. but i think i’m being too lazy =.=.. i can’t think of 7+1 interesting random facts about myself.. all quite depressing and negative really.. haha.

  5. Jo : Cause you seem to be caught up in drama. Hence the need for distraction. 😀

    Jook : If you think you belong in E, by all means 😛 Welcome to my ex-world!

    p/s : I’m a writer, not a counting-person!

    c.ho : Haha, any random fact would do. Like how you can delicately draw a straight line on your eyelid without it smudging = tremendous patience, unlike me >.<

  6. it’s not THAT depressing la.

Leave a Reply

