Boracay Part 2

Read more about Boracay here. And you certainly can’t go wrong with a Wiki Travel guide πŸ™‚

Since the currency rate fluctuates all the time, get the latest exchange rates here. However, at the time I went, it was P100 = RM8.

Getting there

KUALA LUMPUR – MAKATI CITY

Kel and I booked our flights via the Super Saver fares with Malaysia Airlines [them being our national carrier and my client, before Kel’s agency came and stole them from us :p ].

Cost (incl surcharge, taxes, etc) : RM1142.00 for both

Price does not include airport departure tax of P750.00 per person.

MAKATI CITY – CATICLAN

April booked our tickets for P9816.00 for both. We then took a trishaw (P40) to the boat station, and paid around P100 per person to get to Boracay island itself.

Where to stay

We stayed at Casa Fiesta in Station 1 for a grand total of P8000 for our entire trip. That works out to be around RM160 a night. Sure it isn’t exactly a posh hotel, but the rooms are clean, there’s hot water, air conditioning and they come clean your room and change your sheets daily πŸ™‚

Not so good thing was the occupant opposite our room kept on bringing back island companions [prostitutes] every night, sometimes two for one session! Thank goodness Kel and I didn’t hear any funky noises in the middle of the night. Either the walls are thickly padded, the prostitutes there are really quiet, or the activities just wiped us out.

Activities

And now, the obligatory post that you [all my 3 1 readers] have been waiting for : What the HELL did you do on an island for 4 days?!

First off, there are TONNES to do besides blithely posing around the beach with your bikini, sunnies and cocktail / beer of choice :

April and her mocktail

April and her mocktail

pymei

April & Mei

Babes by the beach

Babes by the beach. Pic courtesy of Py πŸ˜€

If you like my green Roxy bikini, thank April because she got it for me πŸ˜‰ MWAH! ❀

My dieting tips are Guinness, beer, whiskey, fries every weekend and Bikram yoga 3-5 times a week.

A view of the beach. Please note that I did NOT photoshop / do any digital alteration to these photos [make the sky bluer! make the sand WHITER! clump some reefs here! take away my saddlebags and eyebags! cause it takes too much effort]

View from the plane

View from the plane

Cloudy beach

Cloudy beach

The weather at Boracay was mostly cloudy for the first 3 days I was there. Depressing! Fine sunny weather is from November to April, and locals say that the weather was a freak of nature. And boy was it cold at night! Thanks to the wind’s chill factor, I had to buy a sarong to serve as a shawl.

A typical walk by the beach

A typical walk by the beach

White sand beaches, clear blue waters and cloudy skies.

Feet

Feet

Waters so clear…

Suddenly I sea!

Suddenly I sea!

And so blue

Kelameity!

Kelameity!

D

I like this random shot of me taken by April πŸ˜€

Activities I did on Boracay included :

Banana Boating

What it is : You get on an inflated banana-shaped boat and get dragged by a speedboat around corners. Apparently someone died of a heart attack when the banana boat tipped over, so they don’t do rough / tight corners anymore. However, you can request them to do so πŸ˜€

The waters were choppy when we got on, so it was hell of a bumpy ride. I could’ve sworn I nearly got whiplash, while Tian Lun was enthusiastically going “LOOK, NO HANDS!” while we [especially ME since I was sitting in front and getting the brunt of the attack!] hung on for dear life and limb.

Banana boating!

Banana boating!

Yes, the photo looks like we’re cruising at a nice walking pace but trust me, I was hanging on for life lest I get thrown into the ocean. In fact, my butt flew off and I was airborne for around 2-3 seconds before I scrambled back onto the seat and crushed my thighs against the banana boat.

Cost : P400 per person. That WOMAN fucking conned us, it could’ve been P350 per person but she decided to cut our throats at the last minute. Bitch. I hope her cornrows fall out during sex.

Flying Fish

Contrary to its name, no we didn’t go fishing. In fact, what you do is you get on an inflated round-ish doughnut and get dragged by a speedboat ala Banana Boating. Except that while BB rocks you left and right, this one pulls you FORWARD and UP so it’s like a bucking horse. April was screaming half her lungs out and I was afraid she’d let go, fall onto me and we’d both fall into the ocean like Kel πŸ˜›

What happened to Kel was his legs slipped from underneath him and he clung on for about 3 seconds [resulting in him looking like Superman] while I yelled “JUST LET GO!”. He did, landed in the ocean, and it was major overhaul to get him back onto the Flying Fish πŸ˜›

No pictures cause there was no one to take it of us 😦

Cost : P300 per person. FUN!

ATV

All-Terrain Vehicle or ATV was one of the activities that Kel enjoyed πŸ˜€ We wented an ATV each and drove it up all the way to the mountains of Boracay and took some amazing photos there [which I will grab off April soon] . It was WINDY as all hell, and while we at the tallest photo-taking point, the entire rickety shack shook. Literally, I felt the earth move under my feet and I had to get Kel to bring me down [cause I was glued to the steps like a cat to catnip] πŸ˜›

And since we did drive on normal roads, it was a race between4 of us on the main road, with all of us attempting to overtake April and me blocking Kel’s path πŸ˜›

Cost : P600 for 1 hour. Bring extra cash to enter the phototaking point.


Horse Riding

AHHH My favourite of all!!!!!! Kel and I rented a horsy each for 1 hour, and pretty much took the same route all the way up to the halfway point of the mountain where we ATV’d our sorry arses there.

Kel and Black Beauty

Kel and Black Beauty

Island Hopping

Contrary to the name of this activity, we didn’t go hopping round the nearby islands of Boracay. Rather, it was a boat trip to 3 different spots in Boracay.

Stop 1 : We snorkeled in this spot for abit. A pity that Tioman’s a much nicer place for snorkeling, as there were heaps of sea urchins urgh near the corals [and when Kel dived into the waters, he very nearly stepped on 1!]

Stop 2 : We decided to skip this stop as we felt that snorkeling here wouldn’t be that great. Turns out we didn’t miss anything at all.

Stop 3 :Β  Where the sand is TRULY white, the waters a pale crystal blue and the perfect spot to do some camwhoring / yogic stunts :p

Standing Bow Pulling

Standing Bow Pulling

Backward Bend

Backward Bend

Β 

Β 

And that’s all for Part 2!Β 

Β 

Β 

M*

Posted on February 4, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. oh my goodness. standing bow pulling photo looks awesome. I might try that in front of the mirror tonight in the privacy of my own room. Then i’ll bust it out the next time i’m at the beach too.
    haha. so not gona happen

Leave a Reply

