Lock Your Damn Knee.

Today, I woke up with two sore biceps, a wonky right knee [more on this later], a tight and sore abdominal and tight-as-a-bad-wine-corkscrew left hamstring.

Yet, I can’t wait to get back in to the hot room. Sadistic, I know.

How’d I injure my right knee AFTER class? Well, I was at home trying to learn how to lock the knee. As Bikram says, “Even when you die, I’ll be jumping on top of your coffin screaming ‘LOCK THE DAMN KNEE’ ” . I’d like to take the opportunity to remind everyone again that I prefer being cremated… So I was trying to lock the knee, when I BENT my right knee [by accident] and locked it.

Pain shot through my right knee like a mother, and I’m still hobbling around like a crab that’s lost its pinchers.

Lesson # 1 : Lock your knee. Push your knee back, contract your upper thigh muscles. Never bend your knee, or you’ll have joyful sadistic pain in that area the next 24 hours.  Same goes to you too, Jun 😛

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to feed my cat before she claws my knees.

M*

Posted on April 5, 2009, in Bikram Yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. WOI!!!!
    i will….one day……….

  2. Better now than never!

    Don’t worry about kicking your other leg up, get your standing knee locked [after 1 year, some days it just refuses to lock, but sokay, slowly but surely 😀 ]

Leave a Reply

