“I Am?”

I squeeked after class when Jakob said I was competing in Malaysia’s first Asana Championship.

“But I can’t even get my head to knee during Dandayama-janushirasana!” I exclaimed. Which is true. I can, some days, but I wibble-wobble out like Jell-O in an earthquake.

“When you’re holding a posture in front of 200 people, no way you’d want to fall out” he said.

So… I guess I’m competing then? Which means right after TT it’s straight to mad ass training back in KL as the championships are in mid December. As usual, some people may think that I’m not right for being so all-out, but screw it.

Excuse me if you will, I have to get to bed to prepare my body for the onslought that is a 9am beginner’s class and 1pm Advanced class. I foresee myself waddling like a duck after class and being all bleary eyed after 84postures in 2 hours. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Jakob said that being a Bikram Yoga teacher is the only LEGAL profession in the world where you get paid to torture people and the clients say “Thank you” after that. “Well, the other one I can think of isn’t exactly legal, so I’ll just let your imagination run wild” he said while I giggled into my towel.

And here’s a VERY GOOD explanation by TheDancingJ on her blog about how one’s spine lengthens / compresses during forward / backward bends. Clickity click! She’s got such beautiful postures and a happy healthy spine! Props to Foo for asking such a question [nudge nudge, see, it’s time for you to try a Bikram class and build some muscle and survive on 3-4 hours of sleep like me ๐Ÿ˜€ ]

M*

p.s : I am so backlogged on blogging.

p.p.s : My cats are playing a psychotic game of catch at 12.15am. GRRR!

Posted on August 15, 2009, in Bikram Yoga, Malaysiana. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great!! You are competing! Don’t worry, that standing head to knee will be a BREEZE once you get through teacher training.

    I did my first championships in Oct 2007, and it went the same way for me: at the end of August, my studio owners said, “hey you need to come to advanced class and you’re gonna compete” and I was like, “Uhhhhhhh… I’m gonna WHAT?!?” Then I remember that about 4 weeks before the championships, we were having a meeting where we were talking about scoring in the postures, and I raised my hand and said “what if you can’t touch your forehead on your knee in standing head to knee?” (cause I still had NEVER once done it in my LIFE), and our coach said, “TRY HARDER!” And I was like…. oh…… okay…….. I guess I’m gonna go stand in a corner and practice some more now……

    But then 4 weeks later I got on stage and I DID IT! And it was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. So it all works out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It will?! Oh the most LOL things our coach is making us do [upcoming blogpost!] is cracking me up big time.

      I cannot wait for the day where I touch my forehead to the knee and hold it and come out nicely and with control. *rubs hands in glee.

  2. that is so awesome mei, good for you!

  3. Waaa.. Mei can now show off more of her bendy bits to an even larger audience ๐Ÿ˜›

    All the best! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • It’s not about showing of, it’s about making yourself better in your practice ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I know you’d like to see that freaky 360ยบ degree hand twist again. Ay ay ay?

  4. Catchin’ up on blogs and saw this!

    Whee! congrats! you are totally gonna rock it!

Leave a Reply

