Tolerance (Or Just Plain Stupid?)

I have gained a TREMENDOUS amount of patience after 1.5 years of Yoga. Things that faze me, or even situations that stress me out [traffic, leaving the house with the wrong shoes, or worse – no underwear!] don’t seem to bother me as much.

Traffic? Just leave earlier. No sweat.

Idiot motorcyclist in front of me who just weaved in and out and nearly killed himself on my windshield? No sweat, just don’t die on my car, and would you like to consider purchasing life insurance?

The BMW-driving-sack-of-potatoes who is tailgaiting me and trying to get me to speed up even though the cars in front of me are travelling at the same speed? No sweat, he can overtake and get stuck on the left lane for all I care.

Dad next to me harassing me to overtake the truck? No sweat, I calmly cut to the right and did a neat little overtake without scaring the truck driver.

In other words, yes, tremendous amount of patience and tolerance.

However, I’m starting to question if I’ve lost my sanity when someone calls me “fucking stupid” twice in one night. Toss in “idiot” and “Are you stupid?” a couple of times and you have my Saturday night post advanced class. In fact, I am so GODDAMN mellow that the countless amount of times he’s called me “fucking idiot” or “fucking stupid” don’t bother me. At. All.

Though I’m starting to think that I should be bothered. Or at least be a little angry!

Jesus says “turn the other cheek”. Yoga says “If the heat can get to you, what about the outside world?”.

So here I am, sitting on my butt on a Sunday evening trying to get my freelance work done wondering if I really am too tolerant / patient, or am I just too damn stupid for my own good. Which is a pity, really, as I’d like to think I’m not as dense as I make myself up to be. *flips bleached hair.

M*

p.s : I really was kidding about the bleached hair. I don’t have the right features / skin tone to pull it off!

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Bikram Yoga, Yuck. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Mei –

    I think it’s important not to get angry. Then he wins.

    Here’s a quote from Eckhart Tolle

    Wherever you are, be there totally. If you find your here and now intolerable and it makes you unhappy, you have three options: remove yourself from the situation, change it, or accept it totally.

    Perhaps you can change the situation without getting angry or letting the dude steal your peace by telling him with peace and tolerance that this language is no longer acceptable and it must stop immediately. Doing so is kind of like doing an asana! To see if you can stay calm and in the moment while doing it!! Don’t forget to breathe!

    Or if that doesn’t work just punch his ass. 😀

    Thanks for the blog!

    • Oh hey Waylon, thanks for visiting! 🙂

      I’m actually so cool, calm, collected that now when I think about it, I’m so surprised and wonder if I should actually be pissed [cause isn’t it some sort of verbal abuse?]

      Hah, I’d punch the person, but he’s twice my size. :p

  2. And to add to the previous comment and quote..

    Here’s the serenity prayer:

    God grant me the serenity
    To accept the things I cannot change;
    Courage to change the things I can;
    And wisdom to know the difference.

    Bikram sure has granted you all the serenity you need. Now you just need to find the other 2 elements. 😛

Leave a Reply

