Missing the Sluts and the Nerds

Freelancing as a writer is a tough job. Since leaving the world of advertising 6 months ago [WOW, that long!], I’ve had MONTHS go by without a paycheque [earning RM50 from the sales of cancer sticks do somehow keep me sane]. So I was very happy and very pleased that suddenly, the opportunity for a GREAT BIG writing gig popped up. See, manifest thy thoughts and it shall happen! Even better, my ex-colleagues contacted me for it. HAPPY!

Hopped over to my old office to get the brief. It felt odd, seeing the new writer there [or, should I say, designer-turned-writer 😉 ]. It felt even odder that a new designer was sitting where I used to eat, sleep, and tip-tap some advertising drivel away. The scandalous pictures from our company trip to Tioman, my mugshot when I was running for VP of the social club, a poster of me waving a fist at God-knows-who at one of our charity drives [at a children’s home, no less]; were all still there, almost as though I’d walk back through the glass doors to make the Creative Head’s blood pressure skyrocket once more.I think I did it on Friday, when I told him he looked like a balding ape.

I miss the people, but I don’t miss the job. And I certainly don’t miss the crappy pay, nor do I agree with the direction they’re heading, one bit.

Some days I wonder if all this is part of a greater plan that the universe has in store.

M*

Posted on September 6, 2009, in Malaysiana, Perso-mei-lly, Work. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. thanks mei, as much as i love my santa cruz life, i miss the peeps at my old job so much! awwwww.

Leave a Reply

