A Meme cause Mei is Busy

Right, failed attempt at rhyming. All those years of poetry classes down the drain.

Don’t get me wrong, I do LOVE and appreciate poetry, it’s just that I suck balls at parameters and rhyming. Heck, even my normal writing seems to be going downhill and seems to be replaced by Bikram-speak.

Thanks to the ever-lovely Hannah for this meme! Tag, everyone else, YOU’RE IT!

It’s not fall in Auckland, New Zealand until light streams in through my door, washing my room with an orangey-yellow hue as Sakura the Evil Cat makes her way in, jumps on top of me, sleeps in between my legs or shoves me off the bed to get warm. Outside, it’s not fall till you find yourself waiting for the bus and cursing the wind in every conceivable language as it nips around your exposed body parts.

Kelly Preston’s character in the movie For Love of the Game expresses her need to escape NYC because “Summer’s almost over, and I feel like I missed it.” What do you need to do in the waning days of summer for it to feel complete? Sunbathe in the courtyard [I remember once while sunbathing with Tania, we totally forgot that there were workmen behind us. eek!], run around the beach with the salty air sticking to my skin.

The person I know is wrong for me but about whom I frequently think after a break-up is happily dating someone else and has been while I turned up. Yup, so wrong.

The US Tennis Open, one of four Grand Slam events in that sport, is currently in the quarterfinal round. If you could only attend one major sporting event what would it be? The last time I attended a sporting event [a Malaysian students’ sports tour in Otago], I was injured by a rogue rugby ball. So this time, I’ll attend a chess convention – unless of course, a meteor decides to land on me.

Assuming that you write an anonymous or partially anonymous blog, by what non-physically identifying characteristics might you be identified in a bar? I’ll be the one drinking Guinness and swearing like a sailor. That and if you hear “Oh go get syphillis in the ass”, that’s me.

Most blogs cover some sort of niche – personal, political, dating, culinary, etc. What topic, if any, would you like to address on your blog but doesn’t fit into your niche? A nice mix-mash-mish of politics, human nature and philosophy. I can’t get enough jabbering about these 3 topics. I love prying people’s brains apart [metaphorically, I’m not that sadistic!] and their discussions on topics such as these reveal much about themselves. Plus, you’ll never know what you’ll learn in the process.

That being said, I was more cerebral 5 years back. I obviously got dumber as time went on.

If you could manipulate the time space continuum and give as many as three pieces of advice to a younger version of yourself, what advice would you give and to what age of you?

Oh WOW, ok, well, here goes!

10 -year-old Mei : They won’t stop fighting. Don’t blame yourself. And stop wasting your birthday wishes for the next 5 years for it to stop. Wish for a pony instead.With pink ribbons.

14-year-old Mei : Smoke more. You’ll learn to hate it when you’re 22, so in the meantime, tar your lungs up and stop hoping you’d die  for all your problems to end.

16-year-old Mei : Trust no one, even if you’re staying with them. People have the weirdest ways to turn stories about you. And yes, it sucks that your father doesn’t even believe you, but hey, chin up, don’t worry, you’ll weather through and make awesome friends on the way.

17/18-year-old Mei : 6 shots of Tequila is quite enough, thank you.

20/21-year-old Mei : NEVER EVER let anyone belittle you and demean you. Who gives two flying fucks you’re studying a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Spanish and Italian? YOU ARE GOING TO BE ONE OF THE BEST STUDENTS IN CLASS.  And NEVER EVER let then-boyfriend, Jackass Joel, tell you that because you’re doing a Bachelor of Arts and he a Bachelor of Engineering, that you don’t know SQUAT about anything else. You can tell him to go get syphillis in the ass right after you dump his ass on the curb. There! AND TAKE THAT GODDAMN SCHOLARSHIP TO SPAIN. FUCK what he thinks about you ‘abandoning’ him to pursue your dreams!

22-year-old-Mei : You’re NOT a junior copywriter. So stop accepting being treated like one and grow another set of balls. You’re not a copychecking machine!

Who among your friends do you really wish had a blog because their stories, or perspective on something ought to be shared? Most of my friends do, though I wish Foo would update his more often when he isn’t a socialite 🙂

If you were to take an e-cation (vacation from the trappings of our electronic world,) and assuming that employment obligations would allow it, how long of a break could you take? What would you miss the most, the least? I will miss my facebook games – Pet Society Who’s gonna feed and play and buy Viva new things?!?!?!, Restaurant City, twitter … oh my, I’m so dependent on social networking media, it’s scary.

On September 11th of this year, I will be attending a couple of parties and am somewhat conflicted by the fact that this ignoble anniversary shall pass with it being just another day in the eyes of many (and in some ways my own eyes as well.) Thoughts? It was horrible what happened, but please do remember because of a select group of people, EVERYONE else started seeing each other in the whole “us/other” paradigm. “You’re with us, or against us”. How bout, let’s try compassion, understanding and not give in to xenophobia?

How high are your walls?  Who was the last person to scale them? What tools should would-be climbers have on their belt? 20 feet high with glass shards on top of it. But after you get through a very thing layer of concrete, you’ll see that my walls are actually made out of rice paper – thin, see-through, fragile, just a front. As the saying goes, “Sometimes we build walls not to keep people out, but to see who cares enough to break them down.” My walls may have been broken many times, but it’s the re-building of it to keep even more people out, that hurts. Such a vicious cycle for someone so young and so cynical / jaded.

The sexiest thing a man can say to you (or has said to you) is as Hannah put it very eloquently, what that is not said but done. And no, it’s not sex-related, so please get your head, all 2 inches of it, out of the gutter.

M*

Posted on September 25, 2009, in Fun fun. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Mei~ very nice! I love these memes, it’s like a glimpse into the beautiful soul of the blogger. Lovely answers!

  2. Yayyyy! Aren’t memes the best?! Such fun reading your answers, lovely lady.

Leave a Reply

