2010 Yoga Asana Championship

Apologies for the lack of updates!

Been busy teaching, studying dialogue [yes, still!], and spending time with my cats and googies.

So the most important update so far is… I LOVE TEACHING! Except for the times when I lose my voice, or my body explodes in a series of rashes [like today… which means I had a hard time figuring out my wardrobe or trying not to scratch / rub myself against a wall to relieve itching].

In more disappointing updates, I will NOT be competing in the 2010 Yoga Asana Championships due to monetary constraints. Alas, I have bills to pay, loans to pay off [COUGH!], more bills to pay. Added on to the fact that I want to concentrate on teaching for the next 3-6 months and be the best that I can be.

😦

ON HINDSIGHT THOUGH – even though I may not be competing, I totally locked my right knee out and did the standing splits! Woot!

Then I promptly fell out and nearly crash landed into the mirror. *cringe.

But who cares about how high I kick or how far back I go? What matters is MY FORM! Precision, alignment, INTENSITY!!!!

And with that, I go back to my daily dose of living.

M*

p.s : BIKRAM101 DAY CHALLENGE! SO TOTALLY ON! Now to stock up on Baking Soda ..wee!

Posted on January 4, 2010, in Bikram Yoga, Malaysiana, Perso-mei-lly. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Precision, FREQUENCY, intensity! That means… do it AGAIN!! Heehee. I ❤ Emmy. But hooray for locking out!! I remember the first time I legitimately did that in class. It was on a New Year's Day! I was pretty pleased with myself. But ya, holding it is super tricky.

    2011 CHAMPIONSHIPS YES YES.

  2. There is always next year to compete! I’m SOOOO loving that you locked out in standing bow. **bows with respect**

  3. i’m heading to malaysia soon and am checking out bikram yoga studios and came across your blog! thanks. just curious — do you have to pay to compete in the malaysian championships? or is this the world championships you were talking about?

    • Hi there! When will you be coming to Malaysia? This is exciting news, would love to see you!

      Well, Malaysia doesn’t have a competition. Nearest countries that organize asana competitions are Thailand and Singapore. As far as I know, yes you have to pay to enter the
      regionals in Singapore but competitors were awarded a spa voucher worth more than the entry fee itself 🙂

Leave a Reply

